Wampatown.com...come for the Star Wars, Stay for the community

Sith symbols different meanings?

Discussion of Star Wars novels, comics, and the universe beyond the movies

Moderators: Delta73, handofthrawn

Sith symbols different meanings?

Postby morganax » Wed Apr 22, 2009 8:20 am

hi, obviously I am new here and I am sorry to start a new thread but didn't know where else to ask my question.

I am wondering if someone can explain the difference in the 2 Sith symbols.

The one that is on Naga Sadow's forehead I think is the symbol for the Old Sith Empire.

I am confused on what the one that looks like a sun burst represents in the Sith? I believe I have seen it used as avatars here on this board.

I am trying to get tattoos for the Jedi order and the Sith order, and I need to make sure I am using the right Sith symbol.

thanks so much....I am just beginning to explore the EU of SW so I am still very green on things

[/img]
morganax
Padawan

Postby handofthrawn » Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:35 pm

This is the symbol of the Sith Order as I know it:

If you look around, though, there are a few other symbols associated with the Sith Order, such as the following:

Click Here -- this one's too big to post outright

And here's another--supposedly the oldest one:

This one's also quite large.

Various sources label them as relatively current or old, but it's the top one that's most familiar to me, and if I were going to get a tatoo to represent the Sith Order, it'd be that symbol. For the Jedi I'd get this one.

I hope this helps.
handofthrawn
Administrator

Postby Darth_Yelsew » Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:57 am

I'm just about to get my Star Wars tattoo, I've gone for a red Mythosaur Skull, ala Boba, on the inside of my left forearm.(My shoulder is already covered) I'm also thinking about Cade Skywalkers Bloody Bones on the inside wrist of the same arm...

Of the Sith signs posted above i quite like the 3rd.
Darth_Yelsew
Padawan

Postby morganax » Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:33 am